The Gabie spirit

 Gabie's story  

 

The Gabie adventure began in february 2019, in Saint Jean de Luz, in the Basque Country. After living in Paris, I came back to my family in the Basque Country, and I moved in with my amatxi (my grandmother in Basque) in Ciboure, with the objective oflearn sewing, by working with several seamstresses in Saint-Jean-de-Luz and Biarritz while continuing to develop my knowledge of regional crafts. Once this knowledge was in my pocket, I was able to start my leather goods business.  

 

Today, the combination of different materials is Gabie's trademark. The maneuverability and the fancy textiles combined with robustness and the nobility of leather, led me to create bags and accessories that are unique in their style. From my love of craftsmanship, colors and beautiful materials, the choice of local manufacture was also imposed. Whether it is to minimize the brand's environmental impact or to collaborate with talented Basque artisans. So I established partnerships with renowned textile and leather houses. `

  

Passionate about beautiful pieces revolted by the pollution and the waste of material that the fashion industry generates, I also favor upcycling  when possible. 

 Finally, Gabie is a story of dating. The brand has been able to evolve thanks to those who believed in this project and who supported me. A huge thank you to those who recognize themselves as well as to those who will soon take part in this adventure!

Agathe Ningres, founder of Gabie

 

The love of French and artisanal leather goods  

Gabie is 100% made in France! 

 

Our requirement on the origin of our materials as well as on the design and production of our creations we makes it possible to obtain resolutely top-of-the-range leather goods. How do we do ?

First stage : All our products are first imagined, designed and then prototyped for the first time by Agathe in her shop and workshop of Saint-Jean-de-Luz. Honestly, this is her favorite part!

Second step : Agathe works in partnership with beautiful traditional textile and leather houses to select the most qualitative and beautiful products she can find! 

Third step : once the first prototypes have been validated, the second parts are made in a craft workshop of leather from the South West of France. The know-how of the leatherworkers of this workshop ensures an incomparable treatment of our materials but also a remarkable rendering at the end of production. In short, we are delighted and we hope you will too!

Our inspirations 

 

 "Gaby, I have already told you that you are much more beautiful than Mauricette

What is beautiful as a firecracker that waits for more than a match It makes firefighters crackle "

You guess it "Gabie”Was inspired by the eponymous song by Alain Bashung: “Gaby oh! Gaby ”. If the spelling is different, we take inspiration from the creativity and spontaneity of this song from the 1980s!   

 

 Fauvism and its colors 

Minute culture! Initiated by Henri Matisse and André Derain and based on the use of flat areas of pure colors, fauvism was an artistic movement at the beginning of the 20th century. The colors used by painters of the time are vivid and very little mixed. The paintings move away from reality by experimenting with new colors for objects: trees can be blue, faces green… The shapes are also simplified. The nature and landscapes of the south of France fascinate Fauvist artists for their luminosity! All of these notions (and especially the colors!) Of a painting movement that only lasted ten years inspire our creations. 

 

All the forms that femininity can take 

Femininity cannot be reduced to pumps, nail polish and the blink of an eyelash. Words, a character trait, music, a style ... Femininity surrounds us and inspires us. It is infinite: there are as many women as there are femininity. See it wherever you want! It is abstract, intuitive, felt ... A vast space open to the imagination. For Gabie, this space is one of creation and inspiration. 

 

The good life ! 

 

Halfway between Italy and California is ...    The Basque country ! Without laughing, we love the sweetness of lifethe otherhenticity and chill under the palm trees. If fashion must be conscious, we see her too slight. Our vocation is not to change the world but rather to be a source of inspiration and pleasure to color, style and facilitate your daily life. We like to imagine our clients on the terrace of a cafe with their friends, dreaming about their next projects, planning a mountain getaway or laughing while sharing the details of their daily life.

L'esprit Gabie

 L'histoire de Gabie  

 

L'aventure Gabie a débutée en février 2019, à  Saint Jean de Luz, au Pays basque. Après avoir vécu à Paris, je suis revenue dans ma famille au  Pays Basque, et j’ai  emménagé chez mon amatxi (ma grand-mère en basque) à Ciboure, avec l’objectif d’apprendre  la couture, en travaillant avec plusieurs couturières sur Saint-Jean-de-Luz et de Biarritz tout en continuant à développer mes connaissances de l’artisanat régional. Une fois ces connaissances en poche, j’ai pu créer mon entreprise de maroquinerie.  

 

Aujourd’hui, l’association des différents matériaux est la marque de fabrique de Gabie. La maniabilité et la fantaisie des textiles combinées à la robustesse et la noblesse du cuir, m’ont amené à créer des sacs et accessoires uniques dans leur style. De mon amour de l’artisanat, des couleurs et des belles matières, s’est aussi imposé le choix de la fabrication locale. Que cela soit pour minimiser l’impact environnemental de la marque ou pour collaborer avec des artisans basques de talent. J’ai donc établi des partenariats avec des maisons de textile et cuir réputées. `

  

Passionnée des belles pièces révoltée par la pollution et le gâchis de matière qu’engendre l’industrie de la mode, je favorise également l’upcycling  quand cela est possible. 

 Enfin, Gabie est une histoire de rencontres. La marque a pu évoluer grâce à ceux qui ont cru en ce projet et qui m’ont soutenue. Un immense merci à ceux qui se reconnaîtront ainsi qu’à ceux qui prendront bientôt part à cette aventure !

Agathe Ningres, fondatrice de Gabie

 

L'amour de la maroquinerie Française et artisanale  

Gabie est 100% fabriquée en France ! 

 

Notre exigence sur l'origine de nos matériaux ainsi que sur la conception et la production de nos créations nous permet d’obtenir une maroquinerie résolument haut de gamme. Comment faisons-nous ?

Première étape : Tous nos produits sont d’abord imaginés, dessinés puis prototypés une première fois par Agathe dans sa boutique et atelier de Saint-Jean-de-Luz. Honnêtement, c’est la partie qu’elle préfère  !

Deuxième étape : Agathe travaille en partenariat avec des belles maisons traditionnelles de textile et de cuir pour sélectionner les produits les plus qualitatifs et les plus beaux qu’elle puisse trouver ! 

Troisième étape : une fois les premiers prototypes validés, les secondes pièces sont réalisés au sein d’un atelier artisanal de cuir du Sud-Ouest de la France. Le savoir-faire des maroquiniers de cet atelier nous assure un traitement  incomparable de nos matériaux mais aussi un rendu remarquable en sortie de production. Bref, nous en sommes ravi.es et on espère que vous aussi !

Nos inspirations 

 

 “Gaby, j’t’ai déjà dit qu’t’es bien plus belle que Mauricette

Qu’est belle comme un pétard qu’attend plus qu’une allumetteÇa fait craquer, au feu, les pompiers ”

Vous l’avez deviné “Gabie” nous a été inspiré par la chanson éponyme d’Alain Bashung : “Gaby oh! Gaby”. Si l’orthographe est différente, nous nous inspirons de la créativité et de la spontanéité de cette chanson des années 1980 !   

 

 Le fauvisme et ses couleurs 

Minute culture ! Initié par Henri Matisse et André Derain et basé sur l’utilisation d’aplats de couleurs pures, le fauvisme fut un mouvement artistique au début du 20ème siècle. Les couleurs utilisées par les peintres de l’époque sont vives et très peu mélangées. Les peintures s’éloignent de la réalité en expérimentant de nouvelles couleurs pour les objets : les arbres peuvent être bleus, les visages verts… Les formes sont également simplifiées. La nature et les paysages du sud de la France fascine les artistes fauvistes pour leur luminosité ! Toutes ces notions (et surtout les couleurs !) d’un mouvement de peinture qui n’a duré qu’une dizaine d’années inspirent nos créations. 

 

Toutes les formes que peut prendre la féminité 

La féminité ne peut se réduire à des escarpins, du vernis et à un clignement de cils. Des mots, un trait de caractère, une musique, un style… La féminité nous entoure et nous inspire. Elle est infinie : il y autant de femmes que de féminité. Voyez-la où vous voulez ! Elle est abstraite, intuitive, ressentie… Un vaste espace ouvert à l’imaginaire. Pour Gabie, cet espace est celui de la création  et de l’inspiration. 

 

La dolce vita ! 

 

A mi-chemin entre l’italie et la californie se trouve…    Le Pays Basque ! Sans rire, on aime la douceur de vivrel’authenticité et chiller sous les palmiers. Si la mode se doit d’être consciente, nous la voyons aussi légère. Nous n’avons pas pour vocation de changer le monde mais plutôt d’être source d’inspiration et de plaisir pour colorer, styliser et faciliter votre quotidien. Nous aimons imaginer nos client.es à la terrasse d’un café avec leurs ami.e.s, en train de rêver à leurs prochains projets, de planifier  une escapade à la montagne ou encore de rire en partageant les détails de leur quotidien.