The work of matter

High quality raw materials 

We wish to be as transparent as possible on the production and traceability of the materials we use. We explain here in detail our choices and procedures around the materials which constitute your Gabie leather goods. 

 THE LEATHER  

  

Leather is the most used raw material for the creation of Gabie products. By its nobility and by its robustness, this material is for Agathe unique and essential to meet the quality commitments and of sustainability of its products. Aware that theanimal leather is a precious material which cannot be produced in all conditions, Agathe has chosen to use part of the production of leather from end of stocks of large French and European tanneries, mainly Italian.  

 

For the second part of the production, the choice was made to work with a large family tannery in the South West recognized for its know-how, and its very demanding environmental and social standards. 

              

 THE TEXTILE

 

 
Established in Saint-Jean-de-Luz in the Basque Country, Gabie's desire is to collaborate as regularly as possible with creators and local businesses. Thus, our textiles come from two houses in the southwest: Moutet weaving and Ona Tiss. Their know-how passed down over several generations is reflected in the quality of their textiles. Tradition and modernity complement each other to obtain unique materials, with shimmering colors that are sometimes raw or with unique patterns.

Le travail de la matière

Des matières premières de grande qualité 

Nous souhaitons être le plus transparents possible sur la production et la traçabilité des matières que nous utilisons. Nous vous expliquons ici en détail nos choix et procédures autour des matières qui constituent votre maroquinerie Gabie. 

 LE CUIR  

  

Le cuir est la matière première la plus utilisée pour la création des produits Gabie. De par sa noblesse et de par sa robustesse, ce matériau est pour Agathe unique et incontournable pour répondre aux engagements de qualité et de durabilité de ses produits. Consciente que le cuir animal est une matière précieuse qui ne peut être produite dans n’importe quelle condition, Agathe a choisi d’utiliser pour une partie de la production du cuir provenant de fin de stocks de grandes tanneries Françaises et Européennes , principalement Italiennes.  

 

Pour la seconde partie de la production, le choix a été fait de travailler avec une grande tannerie familiale du Sud Ouest reconnue pour son savoir-faire, et ses normes environnementales et sociales très exigeantes. 

              

 LE TEXTILE

 

 
Implantée à Saint-Jean-de-Luz au Pays Basque, la volonté de Gabie est de collaborer le plus régulièrement possible avec des créateurs et des entreprises locales. Ainsi, nos textiles proviennent de deux maisons du sud-ouest : Tissage Moutet et Ona Tiss. Leur savoir-faire transmis depuis plusieurs générations se ressent dans la qualité de leur textile. Tradition et modernité se complètent pour obtenir des matières uniques, aux couleurs chatoyantes parfois brutes ou aux motifs singuliers.